How To Boost Your Blog Traffic

I was reading this article the other day on how to boost your blog traffic. I’m sure most of us have read articles like this before and they are always interesting to read.

The article describes the merits of Technorati and FeedBurner which are both useful tools in getting your blog known.

The article goes on to mention that if you want to be a serious blogger then you should ditch hosting your blog on a free site like WordPress or TypePad and get your own domain and hosting. That may be the case if it’s a large scale or corporate type blog, but there can be advantages to hosting your blog on WordPress for example. WordPress tends to score highly with the Google search engine, this I believe enables my blog to appear higher in the Google search results than would otherwise be possible.

The article also includes a useful link from usability guru Jakob Nielsen on weblog usability. Some very good points are raised, most of which you may know already but it’s always a good refresher to read such articles.

I didn’t fully agree with item #7 on Irregular Publishing Frequency. This basically states that you should stick to a schedule such as daily, weekly or monthly to meet user expectations. Such a statement could put pressure on people to blog on anything just to meet a schedule.

Jakob Nielsen does mention that you shouldn’t blog just for the sake of it but even so I don’t think a schedule is right for everyone. People should be free to blog about what they want, when they want. I subscribe to many feeds, if a feed doesn’t generate anything new for a few days or a couple of weeks, that will not cause me to lose interest and unsubscribe.

Overall an interesting read. I’m already considering changing my blog theme as a result, more on that later 🙂

Bookmark this post:
delicious_14x14.gifdel.icio.us digg_16x16.gif digg this cute.gif ma.gnolia

1 comment so far

  1. […] Following on from my post on how to boost your blog traffic I though I would experiment with a different theme. The main criteria for a new theme was a simple looking design that wasn’t fixed width. Not sure if I’ll keep this new theme or not, I’ll see how it goes. […]

  2. […] Last month I was discussing how to boost your blog traffic. I’ve come across some more useful tips and tricks that I would like to share with you. […]


Leave a Reply

