Apple 1Gb iPod Shuffle First Impressions

I finally managed to get my hands on the new Apple iPod 1Gb Shuffle earlier this week. I’d originally ordered one of these from Amazon.co.uk about a month ago, but after waiting over 3 weeks I gave up and cancelled my order. The UK Amazon site seems to be suffering with supplier problems currently, their web site currently has this message next to the product description:

“We are currently waiting for information from the supplier on when stock of iPod shuffle will be available. We are working hard to get stock for customers who have already pre-ordered the Shuffle. Please click the “sign up” button above to be notified when this item is available for order.”

I had a tip-off that the UK Apple site was selling the iPod 1Gb Shuffle with free engraving, so I’m glad I cancelled my Amazon order. I ordered my Shuffle from Apple on the 14th November and it arrived 2 days later. How’s that for service šŸ™‚

There are loads of good reviews out there on the new Shuffle, so I won’t repeat what you may have read elsewhere. My main objectives were to see how well such a small MP3 player could perform, and secondly, would it work on Ubuntu Edgy 6.10. Overall a great result.

Believe it or not, this is actually the first MP3 player I’ve bought, surprising since this is a technology blog. A bit behind the times but I’ve jumped on the iPod bandwagon šŸ™‚

I wanted a lightweight and small MP3 player, for using at places like the gym, and the Shuffle is ideal. Sure it hasn’t got a screen, but that’s why there are other iPod’s in the Apple family. If you fancy a screen then you can buy an iPod Nano or something similar.

My first impressions on opening the box was some nice slick packaging from Apple. Pictured below is what you get in the box.

Apple iPod 1Gb Shuffle

I had a bit of trouble initially with the USB docking station. It took about 3 or 4 attempts before the Shuffle connected properly. I did my initial setup on Windows XP using iTunes, no problems at all. After about 5 hours it was fully charged and I loaded my first set of songs onto the Shuffle. Apple claim you can get about 240 songs onto the Shuffle, in fact I managed to get slightly more than this figure.

I gave the Shuffle a good test down the gym and it performed admirably. The only thing I would consider buying is another set of earphones that are better at cutting outside noise. The ones that come with the Shuffle are not the best.

The clip on the Shuffle is surprisingly sturdy and I had no trouble down the gym running on the treadmill. The volume and track controls are easy to use. The only buttons that are slightly more fiddly are the on/off switch and the button to play songs either in sequence or random order.

My next test was to see how well the Shuffle would perform on my operating system of choice, Ubuntu Edgy 6.10. As soon as I plugged the Shuffle into the USB port the Rhythmbox Music Player started automatically. It correctly detected my iPod and I could manage all the songs on the Shuffle šŸ™‚

A great purchase overall. It doesn’t have a screen and only holds about 240 songs, but if you fancy an MP3 player for places like the gym then it is a great buy. I’ll be using the Shuffle a lot.

delicious_14x14.gifdel.icio.us digg_16x16.gif digg this cute.gif ma.gnolia

7 comments so far

  1. Josh Chandler on

    I was going to get this player, but i found that I had too many music files!!!! I really like the change though, the old IPOD just you know was weird and random. This one has a funky edge to it

    Josh Chandler
    http://www.techilious.wordpress.com

  2. Dean on

    I know the feeling about too many music files!

    240 songs on the Shuffle lasts surprisingly long, but it would great to have an iPod that could randomly play any song in my music collection. So I may consider an 8Gb iPod Nano a bit later.

  3. Garth on

    Great review. I have the old shuffle, the sound quality is great considering the size of the unit. I’d like one of these new shuffles for the gym, they seem ideal for that purpose. I couldn’t get my old shuffle working with Rhythmbox on Dapper, I’ll have to give it another try, gtkPod is a bit clunky.

  4. […] There are loads of good reviews out there on the new Shuffle, so I won ā€™t repeat what you may have read elsewhere. My main objectives were to see how well such a small MP3 player could perform, and secondly, would it work on Ubuntu Edgy 6.10. Overall a great result.read more | digg story Microsoft ZuneMicrosoft Zune […]

  5. newmw on

    What I definitely like about Apple is the whole packaging of their products, it’s all uniform and simple, but so slick!

    Still thinking about an iPod, but also about a new laptop. So many new media, so little money šŸ™‚

  6. Dean on

    A laptop is on my wish list too. Not sure if I’ll ever get round to buying one though.

    If ever my PC packed up then I’d seriously consider a laptop rather than a new tower. I like the idea of less clutter in my office and being able to carry the laptop around when I need to.

  7. newmw on

    @Dean: “If ever my PC packed up then Iā€™d seriously consider a laptop rather than a new tower.”

    I hear a lot of people nowadays saying that (I think it’s a good thing). Computers should be mobile, not vast tanks in the living room (I really really want to get rid of my tank :))


Leave a Reply

